Introductions

I’ve created this PhD blog for a couple of reasons. One is to reach out to the research community, to hopefully make contacts in my areas of interest and to share some of my thoughts. The other reason is to use this as a way to track my own progress. I’m just beginning my second year and my path has been far from straight forward. I began my PhD with the intention of researching masculinities but have now ended up in the area of  ‘gender-sex’ (my term that I will explain further about later), science, education and ethics.

Before I get into that though, it might be useful to first explain a bit about who I am.

My name is Blue Mahy and I’m based in the faculty of education at Monash University in Melbourne, Australia. I have a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) from Deakin University. My major was professional and creative writing, with minors in communications and literary studies.

In my undergrad I became very interested in learning about gender, sexuality, queer theory, poststructuralism and other similar areas. After taking a unit called Men and Masculinities I became particularly interested in this subject and therefore it became my intention to carry this interest into doing a PhD. However, my readings and suggestions made by my supervisors led me onto a somewhat different path.

Today, my intention is to conduct research with pre-service teachers, to examine the relationships between gender-sex, science, education and science-ethical issues, primarily using conceptual ideas from the ‘new materialism’ paradigm, especially those from theorist Karen Barad.

So, welcome to my blog and please get in contact with me if we share similar interests!

B.

Leave a Reply

